Heelychat Forum Index
<  Picture & Video  ~  Merrie's ULTIMATE Wheel ! :D
Merrie_England
PostPosted: Sat Aug 30, 2008 10:15 am  Reply with quote

WARNING: Long Post. If you have the attention span of a goldfish, feel free to look at the pretty pics Laughing On the other hand, if you're a heely fanatic like me, and love to know all the little details of how I made my own super special wheels - read on my friend Smile

OK, this is another of my little projects that I've been working on for a couple of months. Until now I hadn't spoken of it because I wasn't sure if it was going to work. But now I am Smile

I have designed, built, and tested the ULTIMATE in Heely Wheels! Smile

At every stage of the production I measured and remeasured every dimension with digital callipers which were accurate to the micrometer, so they run TOTALLY true - and are probably the most perfect Heely wheels in existance. Smile

They started out as a type of aggressive inline wheel the style of which is called "Old English" which I thought most appropriate. The color is called "Forest Green" and as someone who lives right on the border of Robin Hood country, I also thought that was fitting, plus I love green anyways Smile

These wheels took 2 days to transform from a set of 4 "grindrocks" into the ultimate pair of heely wheels, at a total of about 4 hours a day: I used the facillities of a local engineering firm where they had all the tools and machines I would need to make the perfect wheel work first time: micrometer accurate milling machines, lathes, etc.

Then to be sure they worked, I skated on them as hard as I could for a total of about 100 hours (2-3 hours a day for about 6 weeks) to make sure they worked perfectly. Much of this was on the roughest streets I could find to be sure they would not break, and of course some vert whenever I could get to a pipe.