Heelychat Forum Index
<  General  ~  New to Heely's
jthorpefl
PostPosted: Tue Dec 12, 2006 12:26 am  Reply with quote

Hey there everyone, I am new to Heely's. I just bought a pair yesterday and tried them out with very little luck........ Sad I know that it will take practice, but every time that I try, either the back foot I don't get up in time or forget, so it is almost like doing the splits, or when I do get both feet up, I feel like I am going to fall over. Any one have any suggestions....... btw, I am 29
Slicer
PostPosted: Tue Dec 12, 2006 12:57 am  Reply with quote
Museum Curator

Ah, memories. Wearing them out of the store, walking to the car by drifting from one foot to the next (and always keeping one toe on the ground), going into my kitchen and stumbling after just a few feet, swearing up a storm, managing to balance for a few feet and then going around the block once and falling square on my ass...

There is no substitute for practice. Understand that these shoes are going to take their toll on you in pain, and possibly scars, before you master them. You've probably seen the "How to Heel" video on www.heelys.com . It's nowhere near as easy as they pretend it is.. at least not for adults. (I just turned 25 a month ago.)

What style?

jthorpefl
PostPosted: Tue Dec 12, 2006 6:16 pm  Reply with quote

Thanks for the reply. I know that practice is the best, but afraid to crack open my skull, Shocked Is there any suggestions on balancing?? And how can you tell which is your strongest leg?? I have also seen the video on how to Heely....... and it is harder than they make it seem.

BTW..... I have the Vapor (black/charcoal/lt gray style #: 7135)
Slicer
PostPosted: Tue Dec 12, 2006 6:49 pm  Reply with quote
Museum Curator

If you're that worried, they make these things called "helmets" which let you break your neck instead.